Exercise 2 Experimenting with texture

For this exercise I chose some lightweight A2 copy paper to experiment with frontage – placing paper over a rough surface and using a graphite stick to pick up the texture:

IMG_5268IMG_5271

I really like the honeycomb and the chicken wire and would really like to incorporate them in to a collage piece. The leaves are good but a bit boring as I knew what they would look like. It hadn’t occurred to me that I could use this technique to generate marks instead of just drawing them and will definitely remember this for the future.

The other part of the exercise was to collect a range of object and attempt to recreate the texture using different marks and drawing implements:

IMG_5267

I like the avocado skin and the cauliflower; the others worked less well I feel as I didn’t manage to recreate texture and more just drew what I saw. I am not great at shading so I think this has affected my range of tone and thus three-dimensionality of the textures I was trying to portray. I possibly need to use bigger paper and be a bit more expressive and experimental…

Leave a Reply

